Home » FAQ » EMJMD NURSING Programme


What is the EMJMD NURSING Programme?

It is a one and half year joined degree in Emergency and Critical Care Nursing promoted by the Erasmus Mundus programme and taught by four partner universities with broad expertise in the field that offers a highly specialized education in nursing. This programme provides a progressive specialization in paediatrics, adult, geriatrics or crisis resource management; and covers specific aspects about the care of oncologic, postoperative or transplanted patients.

What is an Erasmus Mundus Programme?

Erasmus Mundus is an EU cooperation and mobility programme programme in the field of higher education that aims to enhance the quality of European higher education and to promote dialogue and understanding between people and cultures through cooperation with Third-Countries.

Erasmus Mundus programmes are offered by a group of partner universities and include studies in at least two European countries. Thus, all students are guaranteed international mobility.

The Erasmus Mundus label is associated with the highest academic quality and standard of excellence.

What is the EACEA?

The Education, Audio-visual and Culture Executive Agency (EACEA) is responsible for the management of certain parts of the EU's programmes in the fields of education, culture, youth, citizenship and audio-visual, such as the Erasmus Mundus Programmes.

How many credits does this Programme consist of?

The EMJMD NURSING Programme consists 90 ECTS credits spread over 1 ½ academic years.

Which Universities are full members of EMJMD NURSING Consortium?

The partner Universities are:

  • The University of Oviedo (Asturias, Spain) – coordinating institution
  • The University of Algarve (Faro, Portugal)
  • The Polytechnic Institute of Santarem (Santarem, Portugal)
  • The Edinburgh Napier University (Edinburg, UK)

Which institutions collaborate with the EMJMD NURSING Programme?

The associated partners are:

  • Universidade Federal de São Carlos (Brazil)
  • Hospital Universitario Central de Asturias (Spain)
  • Faro Hospital (Portugal)
  • Hospital of Santarem (Portugal)

How is the mobility scheme organized?

You will complete the first term in Portugal (the 1st edition will start in the Escola Superior de Enfermagem de Santarem and the 2nd edition will start in the University of Algarve; the location will alternate each edition). During the second term, you will travel to Spain or UK depending on your study track: the University of Oviedo offers specialization in Adult and Paediatric Clinical Practice, whereas the Edinburg Napier University offers specialization in Geriatric Clinical Practice and Crisis Resource Management. Finally, you will complete your Master's Thesis during the third semester in any of the associated partners supervised by one of the partner universities.

How does the credit system work?

Students are expected to successfully complete a total of 90 ECTS credits. All academic achievements are assessed using the European Credit-Transfer-System (ECTS): 60 credits have to be earned during the first year and 30 credits during the second year (including the completion of a Master's Thesis).

What is ECTS?

ECTS stands for European Credit Transfer System, which is a standard for comparing the study attainment and performance of students of higher education across the European Union and other collaborating European countries. One academic year corresponds to 60 ECTS credits that are equivalent to 1500–1800 hours of study in all countries irrespective of standard or qualification type. One credit corresponds to 25-30 hours of work.

Which is the grading scale used by the EMJMD NURSING Programme?

The EMJMD NURSING Programme applies the ECTS grading system used in the EHEA, which has been established as follows:

  • A+ - EXCELLENT WITH MERITS: Extraordinary performance.
  • A - EXCELLENT: Extraordinary performance with minor errors.
  • B - VERY GOOD: Above average, but with a few mistakes.
  • C - GOOD: Good performance in general, with some noticeable errors.
  • D - SATISFACTORY: Good performance with some significant deficiencies.
  • E - SUFFICIENT: The performance is just over the minimum level required.
  • FX- FAIL: A little more work is necessary to obtain the credits.
  • F - FAIL: Much more effort is needed.

When does the programme start?

The programme starts in September in Portugal (either in Santarem or Faro, depending on the edition).

What is the language of instruction?

This programme will be taught completely in English.

How much does this programme costs?

The tuition fees are similar to other EM Master courses: €5,000 for European students (Category B) and €10,000 for non-European students (Category A). The different tuition fees for Category A and B are connected to the University regulation, and the fact that they are partly financed by national taxes. The tuition fees will cover teaching costs, the use of high quality equipment in the laboratories, and any special learning projects and activities.

Is there any specific scholarship available to finance this Master Course?

Yes. The Erasmus Mundus programmes offer outstanding scholarship opportunities for admitted students. The EMJMD NURSING will select some students to be awarded with individual Erasmus Mundus scholarships according to the Student selection criteria approved by the EACEA.

How many scholarships are awarded?

The number of scholarships awarded for each category (Categories A and B) will be defined on a yearly basis by the EACEA.

What is the amount of the scholarship?

The amount of the full-study scholarship will be higher for third-country master students (Category A scholarships) than for European master students (Category B scholarships).

Category A scholarships are conceived as "full scholarships" covering all necessary costs of the student during his/her study period in Europe; this includes the tuition fees, insurance policy, a travel contribution and a monthly allowance. All in all, it amounts to roughly €36,000.

Category B scholarships have to be considered as a "financial contribution" to the student's costs while following his/her EM studies. It also covers the tuition fees, insurance policy, a travel contribution and a monthly allowance. All in all, it amounts to roughly €17,000.

What certification do I get when I finish the master's course?

You will receive a joint degree recognised by the four partner Universities and the National Agencies of the partner countries taking part in the Consortium.

Application period closed on December 31st.

The EMJMD Nursing Consortium Comittee is currently working on the selection for the next batch.
Next admission period will open again on October 2020 for the academic year 2021-2022.
Please check this webpage to apply then.

Follow us: